Woman.

 

I am woman.

Old woman.

New woman.

In my youth.

Mother to daughter.

Daughter to sister.

In your mind and body,

we find truth.

20 bucks for foundation.

15 for lipstick and

concealer to hide the emotion we carry.

6 days in the gym,

working on her appearance,

to please the man she will one day marry.

5 days of menstruating.

2 pills per 5 hours,

to stop the endless agony we bare.

But rest we do not.

We work until weary,

for they do not wish to begin to care.

9 months of strain.

9 months of pain,

of anguish, of suffering until…

12 hours of pushing.

3 hours of crying.

10 days in recovery.

No joy, no thrill.

On her knees as she falls

and finds the strength to endure the toils she faces.

The road is tough for the woman, like her

yet with grace she still embraces.

I am woman.

Old woman.

New woman.

In my youth.

Mother to daughter.

Daughter to sister.

In your mind and body,

we find truth.

Makhala Kirwan

Author: pardonmyblogs

Hi, I'm Kala. Most days, I lead a very boring life. On rare occasions, I do stuff. Sometimes I write about that. Comment, like, share and all that jazz. Ask me a question and I'll be sure to reply. Any further enquiries? You can contact me via Twitter: https://twitter.com/kalakirwan

Leave a Reply

