Fear of the Unknown

toilet

True story guys.

Earlier this week, I was standing in a very lengthy line for the toilet in the ladies room – very desperate might I add. As I got closer I noticed that a cubicle was open. I asked someone at the front of the line, “Is there something wrong with that toilet?” To which she replied, “Umm I’m not sure… I think so.”

kevin

As the line shortened, I observed that everyone ahead of me saw fit to damage their bladder and wait for another cubicle to free up. They went through great lengths to avoid this mysterious cubicle, rather than use the one which was clearly available! I was on the verge of embarrassingly soiling myself there and then (I don’t think the ‘wet look’ is back in fashion), so I worked my way to the suspicious looking stall….

kev ready

It was somewhat clean and besides the one ply toilet paper, I couldn’t see anything wrong with it.

happy kev

Anyway, it made me, for some reason, ponder the extent to which we let others manipulate our reasoning and as a direct result of that – our decisions. I suppose I can see where the ‘think outside of the box’ notion applies here… do you? Its so relevant in this society we live in. There’s too much risk and not enough reward when we allow others to think for us.

The 2015 election, that not too long passed, caused a predicted buzz in the Twittersphere and I remember seeing a few “everybody’s a politician now” tweets (and similar remarks to that effect) floating around on the timeline. politics

For those of you who have problems recognising sarcasm where it presents itself, first of all, I pity you (sarcasm is one of my regularly exercised hobbies), and secondly – it’s clear that there is a negative connotation here. People were made to feel less than others for a simply taking an interest in current affairs. Wow. Taking the time to discuss issues other than the Kardashians or ‘offing pant’ for meaningless boys resulted controversy on social media. As in the old days, going against the grain, is cause for an uprise. It was no MLK/Rosa Parks affair, but like their contribution to society, I suppose that is the price we too often pay for thinking for yourself.

Ecclesiastes 1:9 says, “What has been will be again, what has been done will be done again; there is nothing new under the sun.” So get used to the widespread ignorance due to come your way. My advice to you however, is to not allow it to steer you backwards. nothing new under the sun

(Suggestion: Try something different in you social life. Rather than confine yourself to your bedroom walls playing Xbox or watching Netflix, take a trip to the library – check out a book. Instead of punishing your liver with Ciroc over the weekend, try a museum and learn something new. Go for a bike ride and take in the sights… You can see where I’m going with this.)

Whatever, so, moral of the story: Don’t ruin your bladder standing in line – approach the empty cubicle.

Happy New Year

 

Makhala Kirwan

Author: pardonmyblogs

Hi, I'm Kala. Most days, I lead a very boring life. On rare occasions, I do stuff. Sometimes I write about that. Comment, like, share and all that jazz. Ask me a question and I'll be sure to reply. Any further enquiries? You can contact me via Twitter: https://twitter.com/kalakirwan

Leave a Reply

