‘Black Enough’: It’s Official

So here it is, guys:

black enough cover photoIt’s nearing a year since I so vaguely announced the soon coming of

‘The cautionary tale of a black woman trying to find her way in a white society.’

But I never really gave any insight as to what this actually was. For the past few months I’ve been marinating on the details and how I’d like to approach this project. I’ve titled it ‘Black Enough’, and once you read through the composition, you’ll come to know why.

One would think due to the above picture, that I’ve written a novel of some sort and in some ways, they wouldn’t be wrong. Though, it isn’t so much a novel as it is, what I like to call, an ‘online reading experience’ haha. No, but really, I suppose to put it simply, ‘Black Enough’ is a series of short chapters written in shifting narrative perspectives, unwinding the life and experiences of a fictional black woman living in England who encounters many unfortunate incidences of hardships and social injustices. These focus mainly on racism, however also touches on areas such as depression, difficulties in relationships and obstacles in education.

God has great plans for each and every one of us. Greater than we could ever imagine. So many times have I fallen flat on my face (and that’s a story for another day) but by His grace, I had the strength to keep going. I am so blessed to even be where I am today and share this news. It is important to know that, while the series may be fictional, the circumstances the characters face are lived in, each and every day by many individuals world-wide, myself included. My goal is to make known to those who are unaware, the challenges many people of colour face and inspire us all to keep going, in the face of adversity.

I aim to release a chapter monthly but I urge you to kindly be patient if I seem to be experiencing the dreaded writer’s block.

Please keep an eye out for the release of ‘Black Enough’: Part One.

I really do hope you enjoy it.

 

Makhala Kirwan

Author: pardonmyblogs

Hi, I'm Kala. Most days, I lead a very boring life. On rare occasions, I do stuff. Sometimes I write about that. Comment, like, share and all that jazz. Ask me a question and I'll be sure to reply. Any further enquiries? You can contact me via Twitter: https://twitter.com/kalakirwan

Leave a Reply

